A trip to Kemer for food and a race!

 

Saç Kavurma wonderful Turkish dish made in flat pan with either lamb, beef or chicken

Hi everyone, did you like my friends post from last time? I asked her to introduce herself but she forgot to say who she was! This is a very old friend who I introduced to Turkey many years ago and she  lives there now. I thought it would be fun to ask some of my Turkish ex pat mates to write on here now and again about their views on the Turkish food and of course new dishes and recipes – what do you think?

Red Bull Sea to Sky Enduro race in Kemer 2015
If you look carefully you will see me there..He he. This is the beach start.

This time I do not have to ask someone in Turkey as I have just come back from a short visit. I went with my daughter to the Red Bull Sea to Sky Enduro challenge. I actually only went to the beach race but it was pretty exciting ( and soooo hot for October). No I laid by the pool, swan in a crystal sea and generally stuffed myself! One of the meals we ate was Saç Kavurma which is small pieces of lamb cooked with plenty of oregano, garlic and some chili pepper for flavour. Cooked in a flat wok type pan from where it got its name, sac being a domed metal plate that the food is not only cooked in but served. A bit like the Balti idea. Cooked with onions, red peppers and tomatoes. It is cooked fairly fast and the sauce is reduced –  more a flavoured olive oil than a sauce. Eaten with flat Turkish bread fresh from the ovens  – absolutely delicious. I am going to try this at home but been thinking should have bought myself one of those wok pans. Ah well save that for my next visit. Will let you know how it turns out.

Although not really to do with recipes I want to mention how I afforded this trip. It was a very last-minute invite; my daughter was going re her work and asked me to come along when a colleague could not go. As it was short notice, I actually took out a loan to fund it from ferratum.co.uk, I found them very helpful and the process quick and smooth, would recommend them.

Leave a Reply

